Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.Schedule a Free Consultation
Facing a reckless driving charge in Rhode Island is significantly more serious than dealing with any other kind of traffic citation or moving violation. Reckless driving is considered a criminal offense in Rhode Island and it carries heavy penalties and punishments. If you’ve been charged with a reckless driving offense, it’s important to obtain legal representation from a Rhode Island reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible.
Because reckless driving can lead to a fatal accident, Rhode Island law enforcement takes reckless driving cases very seriously. Penalties will not only include expensive fines, but you’ll also be looking at potential jail time and a suspension of your license. The Law Office of S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. has handled hundreds of reckless driving cases over the years with results that led to case dismissals or minimum possible penalties.
Dealing with reckless driving involves a criminal defense as well as complicated legal tasks associated with your driver’s license and driving record. You need a skilled and experienced reckless driving lawyer to guide you through this process. Call the law firm of S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. today to learn more about your options.
Being charged with reckless driving can be a distressing and confusing experience. If you’ve dealt with traffic tickets before, you’ve probably come to realize that reckless driving is more severe than other moving violations, such as speeding or laned roadway violations.
It’s common to have questions and concerns about a reckless driving charge in Rhode Island. An experienced reckless driving lawyer can answer all your questions and guide you through your case to minimize your penalties or ultimately get your case dismissed.
Here’s everything you need to know about reckless driving in Rhode Island.
Various situations on the road can lead to a criminal reckless driving charge in Rhode Island. The legal description of reckless driving is vague and can be interpreted in different ways. However, the key point to keep in mind is that a law enforcement officer can charge you with reckless driving if you’re operating a vehicle and endangering the lives of other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians. Examples of reckless driving may include:
While these actions may result in your average traffic ticket, they can also lead to reckless driving charges if you’re putting the safety of others at risk. If you’d like further examples of reckless driving, or if you believe you unjustly received a reckless driving charge, contact our law firm today to speak with a Rhode Island reckless driving lawyer.
Rhode Island, per Chapter 31-27, Section 4 states the following:
§ 31-27-4 Reckless driving and other offenses against public safety. – Any person who operates a motor vehicle recklessly so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered, or operates a vehicle in an attempt to elude or flee from a traffic officer or police vehicle, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first conviction and a felony for the second and each subsequent conviction.
It’s important to have a reckless driving lawyer explain your circumstances and navigate the legal system for you if you’ve been charged with reckless driving in Rhode Island.
The first offense of reckless driving can lead to a misdemeanor criminal charge, $500.00 in fines, up to 6 months in jail, and between 3-18 months of a suspension of your driver’s license. These penalties are delivered at the discretion of the courts and they will vary depending on the severity of your situation.
Keep in mind that a second offense of reckless driving can lead to a felony charge and up to 5 years of jail time. There is a lot at stake when it comes to reckless driving penalties in Rhode Island. If you’d like to learn more about the potential consequences of your charges, contact us today to speak with an experienced reckless driving attorney.
Unlike other states, Rhode Island doesn’t have a driver’s license point system. This means that each violation is taken on a case-by-case basis.
For reckless driving cases, you’ll likely face at least a 3-month suspension of your driver’s license, but if this is your first offense, it will not exceed 18 months.
It’s important to remember that Rhode Island does not allow for special permits, provisional licenses, or any other special considerations concerning your driver’s license if you’re convicted of reckless driving.
Handling the legal tasks associated with your driver’s license and driving record can be complicated after a reckless driving charge. By working with a skilled reckless driving lawyer, we can create a path with the least amount of impact on your driver’s license and driving record.
The first offense of a reckless driving charge is a misdemeanor, but a second conviction of reckless driving will result in a felony. Both misdemeanor and felony criminal charges should be taken seriously. Contact our law firm today to discuss your case with a reckless driving lawyer if you’re facing a misdemeanor or felony reckless driving charge.
Jail time is a possible consequence of reckless driving in Rhode Island. However, it’s not automatically applied to every reckless driving case. A Rhode Island judge will take a variety of factors into consideration when determining if jail time is an appropriate sentence for reckless driving. First and foremost, if other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians were seriously injured will be a key element of a reckless driving conviction and sentence. If you’re concerned about facing jail time for a reckless driving charge, it’s crucial to speak with a Rhode Island reckless driving lawyer immediately.
It is possible to get a reckless driving charge off your record in Rhode Island through the expungement process. However, there are some prerequisites that you’ll have to meet in order to be eligible to get a reckless driving conviction expunged. To learn more about these conditions, contact our law firm to speak with an expungement attorney.
Absolutely. It is never advised to deal with a reckless driving charge alone. Penalties and punishments for a reckless driving conviction aren’t only severe, but they can follow you for years. Remember that a reckless driving conviction will appear on background checks, leading to issues with job applications, loan applications, or any other action that involves a check on your criminal history.
Because of the severity of these consequences, it’s highly recommended to hire a Rhode Island reckless driving lawyer to handle your case. A reckless driving lawyer can guide you through the legal system, fight for lesser fines, help you avoid jail sentences, or even discover errors in your case that can lead to a dismissal.
For the best legal assistance in reckless driving charges, contact the Rhode Island Reckless Driving Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. today to discuss your case, learn about your options, and develop a defense plan to obtain the best possible results.