Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.

Narragansett DUI Lawyer

Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.

Schedule a Free Consultation

Experienced Narragansett DUI Defense Lawyer Defending Cases in RI for 30 Years

There’s no question that DUI laws and penalties in Narragansett Rhode Island are severe. Narragansett, known for its beautiful coastlines and beaches, is a great place to relax and enjoy time off. Unfortunately, it can also be a place where DUIs are highly likely. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Narragansett, contact my Narragansett law office today to speak with a Narragansett DUI lawyer. 

What Happens if You Get a DUI in Narragansett Rhode Island?

Anyone who is arrested for a DUI in Narragansett can find themselves in a lot of legal trouble. Narragansett Rhode Island has incredibly strict DUI laws. Drivers who are over the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher will face harsh penalties. Younger drivers who aren’t legally allowed to drink can face even tougher consequences, even if their BAC levels are low, such as .02%. 

The penalties for drinking and driving in Narragansett will be different depending on your circumstances. For instance, your penalties will be much more severe if you’re a second or third-time DUI offender. However, if you’re a first time DUI offender and you’re under the age of 21, penalties in Narragansett Rhode Island will be: 

  • Between 6-18 months of a suspended license. 
  • Between 10-60 hours of community service.
  • A $500 Highway Safety Assessment fee. 

Drivers who are over the age of 21 with a BAC of .08%-.10% could face the following penalties: 

  • A fine of between $100 and $300
  • A fee of $86
  • License suspension of between 30 and 180 days
  • Jail time of up to one year
  • Ten to 60 hours of community service
  • Alcohol and drug treatment classes
  • DWI class
  • Ignition interlock device

Other Penalties in Narragansett, Rhode Island 

As mentioned above, the legal consequences and penalties for a DUI in Narragansett will depend on various factors. For instance, the BAC level at the time of your arrest, the number of DUI offenses you have, your age, or if anyone was injured due to the DUI incident are all variables that will dictate your penalties for driving under the influence. That last factor is the most important one to address immediately with a lawyer — injuring a pedestrian, driver, or other passengers. If anyone was hurt at the time of your DUI, you must contact a Narragansett DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The potential penalties and consequences for seriously injuring or killing someone in a DUI accident are: 

  • Five to 15 years in jail
  • A fine of between $5,000 and $10,000
  • Loss of a license for five years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol or drug treatment facility

Even if no one was injured and you consider your DUI circumstances to be minor, it’s still highly recommended to work with a Narragansett DUI attorney. Only an experienced DUI lawyer can help you fight these charges and avoid the harsh repercussions of DUI in Rhode Island. 

Defending DUI Charges In Narragansett Rhode Island

Not contacting a lawyer after a DUI in Narragansett is one of the biggest mistakes that drivers can make. You may feel that your DUI charge is not that serious, or you may believe that there’s nothing a DUI lawyer can do for you. Not seeking legal representation after a DUI arrest not only puts you at a huge disadvantage in court, but it can also be detrimental to your daily life and your personal and professional future. 

It’s important to remember that when DUI arrests happen, so do police errors. Only an experienced DUI Narragansett attorney can identify flaws in the police actions, issues with your reported BAC level, or common technical problems with breathalyzers. 

For all of these reasons, it’s imperative to contact a Narragansett DUI lawyer with experience defending DUI cases in the Washington County District Court. There are many different options for a successful defense strategy in DUI cases. However, your defense cannot be formulated if you do not call a lawyer. The sooner you call a Narragansett criminal lawyer, the stronger your defense will be and the better the chances are at producing a positive outcome. 

Why Choose Top Narragansett DUI Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.

  • 30 Years of Experience with DUI and Criminal Defense
  • Judges, Police Officers and Lawyers have referred family and friends
  • Individually review, oversee, and walkthrough your DUI case from start to finish as well as appear in any Narragansett court with you
  • Former Rhode Island Special Assistant Attorney General
  • Over 300 5-Star Internet Reviews
  • Tremendous Results for Thousands of Clients
  • Free Case Walk-Through: Every Case Outlined in Detail in my Free Consultation

No matter how concerned or anxious you are after a DUI, having a trusted Narragansett criminal lawyer on your side can make you feel more secure about the process. Narragansett DUI Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. has dedicated his career to providing an aggressive legal defense to people facing DUI offenses in Narragansett Rhode Island. S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. spent the past 30 years using his experience and knowledge as a former Rhode Island state prosecutor and attorney to successfully defend hundreds of private clients accused of drunk driving offenses.

Even the best drivers in Rhode Island have found themselves in sticky situations on the road. You may be driving along without a care in the world, and suddenly a cop has pulled you over and asked you to exit your vehicle. Next thing you know, the cop makes you pass a series of tests to determine your sobriety. Suddenly, you find yourself accused of driving under the influence, and/or arrested for doing so. At that moment, it’s understandable that a world of stress, fear, and worry instantly appears. While many know that significant punishments come with arrests for driving under the influence, few know the specifics, or what to do when arrested for driving under the influence.

Always remember that you have options. Calling S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. Narragansett DUI lawyer is a positive first step that can go a long way towards keeping the penalties to a minimum, and the process as smooth as can be.

Frequently Asked Questions About DUI’s in Rhode Island

Getting arrested for a DUI can create a world of worry, especially if you’re a first-time offender and you’ve got a clean criminal record. The process of being arrested for the first time can be an incredibly scary process. Understanding your rights, Narragansett DUI laws, and what the penalties are can help you feel more secure about what happens next. Below are some frequently asked questions and answers about DUI’s in Narragansett, Rhode Island that can help you gain some clarity about your circumstances. 

What should you do if the police pull you over?

When a Narragansett police officer pulls you over, the behavior you display at that moment can determine the legal consequences that follow. First and foremost, be respectful, roll your window down all the way, have your license and registration ready, and keep your hands on the wheel. Breathe, relax, and respond as calmly as possible to the officer. Getting upset, challenging any of the police officer’s requests, or acting belligerent can only lead to bigger legal problems. 

While you should always respect a police officer, it’s also important to remember that you have rights. If an officer had no reason to pull you over, displayed disturbing behavior, such as unwarranted accusations or crude comments, or attempted to illegally search your car, be sure to take note of the officer’s name and contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Even if you’re not charged with a DUI, but you feel as though your rights have been violated, contact our law office today to discuss your situation with an attorney. 

What is the legal BAC limit in Rhode Island? 

In Narragansett Rhode Island, you can be charged with a DUI if you’re driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater and a BAC of 04% or more if you’re operating a commercial vehicle. Remember that every individual’s body handles alcohol differently. Your BAC can be affected by your weight, height, gender, or the type of alcohol you’ve consumed. In addition, it’s important to keep in mind that you can also be charged with a DUI if you’re driving:

  • while under the influence of any alcohol, drug, or controlled substance, or
  • with any amount of a scheduled controlled substance (illegal drugs or marijuana) in your blood.

A police officer will be able to identify your BAC based on the results of a breathalyzer test. The breathalyzer is a small handheld device that you breathe into that detects a person’s blood alcohol levels. Breathalyzers are infamous for being inaccurate or providing faulty results. Even if you took a breathalyzer and scored above .08%, you can still investigate the accuracy of this test. Contact our law office immediately after a DUI arrest in Narragansett to speak with an attorney about the results of a breathalyzer test. 

What happens if I refuse the breathalyzer test?

The refusal of a breathalyzer in Narragansett can result in:

  • Fines between $200.00 and $500.00, plus court costs and assessments.
  • Community Service between 10 hours 60 hours.
  • Suspension of driving privileges between 6 and 12 months.
  • Mandatory attendance and completion of DUI school or alcohol treatment.

It’s important to note that refusing to take a breathalyzer test for the first time will result in a civil infraction in Rhode Island. Pleading guilty to a DUI charge is a criminal conviction. (A second refusal to take a breathalyzer will result in a criminal charge.) If you are absolutely certain that you are sober, it may be in your best interest to take the breathalyzer. It can help to have evidence that you passed a breathalyzer test. However, if you’re unsure, it may be in your best interest to refuse and contact Narraganset DUI Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. as soon as possible.

What are the penalties for a second and third DUI offense in Rhode Island?

Penalties for second offense DUI charges – second-time offender within five years with a blood alcohol content unknown or a blood alcohol content between .08-.15%:

  • Criminal DUI conviction on your record
  • Mandatory ten (10) days in jail.
  • 1-year Probation
  • Fine of $400.00, plus court costs and assessments.
  • Driver’s license suspension for up to two (2) years.
  • Alcohol counseling or drug treatment
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock system for up to two years.

Penalties for second offense DUI charges – second-time offender within five years with a blood alcohol content unknown or a blood alcohol content above .15%:

  • Criminal DUI conviction on your record
  • Mandatory six (6) months in jail.
  • 1-year Probation
  • Fine of $1,000.00, plus court costs and assessments.
  • Driver’s License suspended between two (2) to five (5) years.
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock system for up to two years.

Penalties for a third offense DUI charges – third-time offender within five years with a blood alcohol content unknown or a blood alcohol content between .08-.15%:

  • Criminal DUI conviction on your record
  • Mandatory six (6) months days in jail.
  • 1-year Probation
  • Fine of $1,000.00, plus court costs and assessments.
  • Driver’s license suspended for up to two (2) years.
  • Alcohol counseling or drug treatment
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for up to two years.

Reading through this list of penalties can create a lot of anxiety if you’re a second or third-time DUI offender. However, remember that you do have options, no matter how dire the situation appears to be. Contact a Narragansett criminal lawyer today to discuss what we can do for you. 

How long will a DUI stay on your record in Rhode Island? 

In most cases of DUI’s in Narragansett RI, your DUI will stay on your record for five years. After five years, you can speak with a Narragansett expungement attorney about getting your DUI removed from your record. To learn more about Rhode Island expungement laws, contact our law office today to speak with an attorney. 

What is implied consent? 

The state of Rhode Island is an “implied consent law” state. That means that if you have a valid driver’s license, anytime you get behind the wheel of a car, you’re automatically giving consent to a blood, urine, or breath test. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test, you’ll be breaking the implied consent law, and you’ll face an immediate suspension of your license. However, as mentioned above, it’s important to note that refusing to take a breathalyzer test for the first time will result in a civil infraction. If you’ve been pulled over and refused a breathalyzer, call our law office to speak with a Narragansett criminal lawyer today. 

Why should I hire a Narragansett DUI lawyer?

No one should have to deal with the repercussions of a DUI on their own. It can be a daunting, confusing, and complex process. Hiring a Narragansett DUI lawyer can help guide you through the legal process and create the best possible defense. If you want to beat a Narragansett DUI charge, you must speak with an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible. Your DUI attorney will be able to closely examine all of the evidence from your case and determine if you can have your charges dropped. Remember that your breathalyzer device may have been faulty or misread. Your field sobriety test could have been inaccurate or conducted in the wrong manner. There are a wide variety of issues that can come along with a DUI charge. It’s important to explore all of them. Contact a Narragansett criminal lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. today to learn more about your options. 

Narragansett RI DUI Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.

Washington County Criminal Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. has 30 years of experience as a DUI Attorney and has successfully defended thousands of clients in Rhode Island. If you were arrested for DUI in Narragansett, call Narragansett DUI Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. right away. Available 24/7 at (401) 861-1155 for free consultations.

Narragansett Criminal Defense and DUI Lawyer Office

Narragansett DUI Lawyer

Criminal Defense Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.

140 Point Judith Rd Suite #28
Narragansett , RI 02882

Phone: (401) 861-1155

phone Request your free case evaluation today! (401)861-1155

Complete the Form Below For Immediate Assistance