What are the consequences of a DUI or DWI in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island DUI penalties differ based on the perpetrator’s age and Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC).
RI First time DUI offenders with a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent face:
- Fines ($100 – $300)
- License suspension (up to six months)
- Jail (up to one year)
- Community service (between 10 and 6 hours)
If you face second or subsequent charges, there are harsher penalties to face, such as:
- Felony charges
- Steeper fines
- Increased jail time
The penalties for a RI DWI resulting in death are as follows:
- Jail sentence between five and 15 years
- Fines between five and $10,000 dollars
- License revocation up to five years
- Enrollment in an alcohol treatment program