Rhode Island Boating Under the Influence Lawyer
In a state like Rhode Island, where the ocean is a way of life, Boating Under the Influence does happen. Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz is well aware of the allure of the summer months for residents and tourists alike, and reminds all boaters of the dangers and consequences of boating under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Rhode Island.
Because of the nature of these crimes, it is important that you retain a Boating Under the Influence Defense Lawyer such as Attorney Macktaz immediately following your arrest. Attorney Macktaz has over 18 years of criminal experience both as a Former Rhode Island State Prosecutor, and as a defense attorney who concentrates his practice in DUI and BUI.
Boating Under the Influence Penalties in Rhode Island
Rhode Island law sets the blood alcohol limit for boating while intoxicated at 0.08% or greater. The Rhode Island law establishes penalties for boating while intoxicated. Penalties are set according tot he Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) that is detected.On a first conviction for offenders with a BAC of 0.08% up to 0.10%, the penalties are:
- $100-250 fine
- Right to operate a vessel suspended for 45 days
- 10-60 hours of community service
- Required attendance at a boating safety course
- $500 boating safety assessment fee
If you’ve been charged with boating under the influence contact Rhode Island BUI Attorney Joshua Macktaz immediately at (401)861-1155 for your free consultation.