- DUI / DWI
- Criminal Defense
Get a Free Consultation (401) 861-1155
DUI (Driving Under the Influence), DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), and related drunk driving offenses such as breathalyzer refusal can carry hefty fines, loss of license, and even jail time. These are very serious charges that should be taken seriously. The criminal laws of Rhode Island are different from other states and can have stiff penalties.
RI DUI lawyer Joshua Macktaz is a former Rhode Island Special Assistant Attorney General from 1993-1997, with extensive experience as a prosecutor that has used his knowledge to successfully defend private clients accused of drunk driving offenses. Joshua Macktaz has over 25 years of success as a leading Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney.
My Free Consultation gives you a detailed explanation of what you are about to go through and how I defend your case including:
Early intervention by a qualified and experienced lawyer is critical to the success in your case. You need someone who is knowledgeable about Rhode Island criminal laws on matters of breathalyzer refusal and drunk driving (also known as DUI, DWI, driving under the influence, drunk driving, and driving while intoxicated). You cannot leave your freedom or reputation to chance.
I have defended hundreds of these cases as a top DUI defense attorney in RI. I am available to discuss your case today, 24×7 at (401) 861-1155. I serve all towns and counties in Rhode Island so that you can get the proper defense you need no matter what county your trial is in.
Rhode Island DUI and DWI consequences are quite harsh. DUI is short for “Driving Under the Influence” [of drugs or alcohol]. Similarly, DWI stands for “Driving While Intoxicated.” Any driver operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration above the legal limit gets a DWI charge. continue reading
Yes. You can get a DWI or DUI charges for operating a boat with a BAC over the legal limit continue reading
The legal limit (BAC) for any driver 21 years of age or older is 0.08 percent. continue reading
Rhode Island’s implied consent laws state that anyone operating a motor vehicle gives consent to a chemical blood test continue reading
The refusal of breathalyzer in RI can result in loss of license, fines and fees, community service and more. continue reading
Rhode Island DUI penalties differ based on the perpetrator’s age and Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC).continue reading(401)861-1155